Bonjour French Food life/French Food & Co

Showing off with herbs!

And now, mesdames et messieurs, let us introduce you an article from our January magazine. Available in English below (scroll, scroll!).

LA FRIME AROMATIQUE

aromi mediterraneiOn m’a souvent dit que j’étais bonne cuisinière. Je trouve la remarque flatteuse mais elle me laisse pourtant perplexe. Je suis incapable d’exécuter une recette sophistiquée ou d’inventer une sauce. Mes tentatives les plus audacieuses se soldent par des échecs cuisants.

Mais au quotidien, je dois l’admettre, je fais illusion. Mon secret, c’est la paresse. Je cuisine simple. Une cuisine française du quotidien. Et rapide. Et les plantes aromatiques sont les meilleures amies de ma paresse. Elles rehaussent les saveurs, et font voyager les plus simples ingrédients.

Alors bien évidemment, avant l’édition de ce numéro je me suis documentée sur les plantes aromatiques. Très présentes dans la cuisine française, je dis bien française et pas seulement Provençale, je me demandais s’il y avait une raison historique à cela.

C’est ainsi que j’ai découvert Le Capitulaire de Villis. Datant de la fin du VIIIème siècle, il s’agit d’un
texte de loi, édicté par Charlemagne -enfin concocté par son équipe de country managers j’imagine- qui répertorie une liste d’herbes dont la culture sera imposée à tous les jardins de son empire. C’est ainsi que se sont imposées dans tous les monastères les plantes médicinales, aromatiques et condimentaires que nous utilisons aujourd’hui encore dans notre cuisine.

J’étais bluffée. Sacré Charlemagne.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFakamSZxeQ

Petit lexique de la frime aromatique.

ON NE DIT PAS                                            IL FAUT DIRE
Ce soir c’est patates                                     Au menu, pommes de terres au romarin
Il n’y a plus que des oeufs dans le frigo        Je mangerais bien une omelette fraiche à la ciboulette
Cette semaine c’est detox                            Ce bouquet garni sublime ce bouillon de légumes
Un steak ?                                                     Pièce de boucher et son beurre persillé ?

Vous avez aimé cet article? Retrouvez nos rendez-vous gourmands sur www.bonjourfrenchfood.com, nous livrons maintenant partout en Europe!

Vous aimez les herbes aromatiques? Alors allez vite découvrir le site de notre partenaire Eloïde, vous allez apprécier cette toute nouvelle marque, fraiche authentique et…aromatique.

*************************************************************************************************************

SHOWING OFF (with herbs)

It is often said that I am a good cook. It’s flattering, yet it always puzzles me a bit. I am unable to carry out a sophisticated recipe or invent a sauce. My boldest attempts always end up inTarro con perejil seco. major failures.
But on a daily routine, I have to admit, the illusion can work.
My secret is my laziness. I keep it simple. An everyday French cuisine. Quick to prepare. And herbs are the best friends of my laziness. They enhance the flavours and make simple ingredients look like genuine regional cuisine.
So, as you can expect, before editing this issue. I searched information about herbs. Their use is so widely spread in French cuisine (and I really do mean French, not only in Provence cuisine) I wondered if there was a historical reason for it.

This is how I heard about the capitulare de Villis. It is a law from the eight century, enacted by Charlemagne -well I guess this was in fact a team work he challenged his managing directors with- that shortlists a range of herbs which culture was then imposed on all gardens of his empire. This is how all the monasteries had to grow their own medicinal, aromatic and culinary plants, we now use in our kitchen.

I was blown away by the news. Sacré Charlemagne.*

* Sacré Charlemagne is a song kids learn at school in France. It says Charlemagne is the one who invented school. Not sure this is historically true though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFakamSZxeQ

Improve your vocabulary to better show off!

NEVER SAY                                          YOU SHOULD SAY THIS INSTEAD
Tonight is potatoes night                        On the menu tonight, rosemary flavoured potatoes
The fridge is empty, only 2 eggs left       I would love to eat a fresh chives omelette
I’m on a detox diet                                  The bouquet garni enhances the vegetables broth
Beefsteak?                                             A royal butcher’s cut with its parsley butter?

You liked the article? Meet us every month for genuine French delights and discoveries on www.bonjourfrenchfood.com, we now deliver everywhere in Europe!

By the way, if you enjoy cooking with aromatic herbs, you should definetely visit our partner’s Eloïde  website. You will appreciate this new brand, fresh, authentic and…aromatic.

Laisser un commentaire

